How to disable the Facebook Places?

Written by | Tech

Facebook recently launched the Facebook Places, a feature that will allow you to “check in” to Facebook using a mobile device to let a user’s friends know where you are. But if you still value your privacy and don’t want to broadcast where currently are, then you may want to disable the Facebook places feature which by default is currently enabled.

You can checkout the steps after the jump.

1. Login to your Facebook account, then click ACCOUNT then select PRIVACY SETTINGS or you can click on ACCOUNT then ACCOUNT SETTINGS then locate PRIVACY then click on MANAGE. You should be on a screen similar to the screen shot below.

2. At the bottom click “Customize settings“, then under the “Things I share” locate PLACES I CHECK IN TO then selection the option CUSTOM then select the ONLY ME option for the THESE PEOPLE settings.

3. Then click on SAVE SETTINGS.

4. Then on the “Include me in “People Here Now” after I check in” settings make sure ENABLE is not checked.

5. Under the “Things others share” make sure the “Friends can check me in to Places” is disabled by clicking on the EDIT then select DISABLED.

6. Then click on OKAY.

After that you should be all fine, safe from the prying eyes of the public.

Last modified: September 5, 2010

Leave a Reply